British Minigolf Association

Hastings hosts the season opener despite the weather PDF Print E-mail
Michael Smith won the 2018 Planet Hastings Crazy Golf Open, the sixth occasion that he has won the event, in another memorable day on the BMGA Tour. Sunday 4th March saw the start of the 2018 BMGA Tour with the seventeenth edition of the Planet Hastings Crazy Golf Open which was run, once again, in unique style by Planet Hastings' captain John "Ted" McIver.
The three round competition consisted of one round on the Adventure Course followed by a round on the Pirate Course and one final round on the legendary Arnold Palmer Crazy Golf Course. Players were entitled to use only one ball in each round.

Michael Smith won the event with a three round score of 104 (-4), consisting of an opening round of 35 on the Adventure Course, followed by a 33 on the Pirate Course and a final round 36 on the Crazy Golf Course. 

Image may contain: 3 people, people smiling, people standing and shoes
2018 Planet Hastings Crazy Golf Club Open Champion Michael Smith (right) with tournament organiser, John "Ted" McIver (left).

Speaking following the event Michael Smith said "I'm delighted to have won the 2018 Planet Hastings Open. We were faced with a horrendous weather forecast but thanks to the organisation, hard work and decision-making of Ted McIver and Steve Lovell, we just about got it finished in playable, albeit difficult, conditions. Aside from hole 5 on the Pirate, I was delighted with my performance. As always, the tournament was played in an excellent spirit which is a huge part of what makes Planet Hastings special. Aside from the weather, hopefully the tournament marks the start of a glorious new era for the BMGA.

David Taylor came second with an outstanding performance with a total score of 110 (+2). beating Andy Wilde, in a playoff at the second sudden death hole.

Defending Champion Steve Lovell finished in fourth, one shot further back with 111 (+3).

Planet Hastings Crazy Golf Open Hall of Honour:
2001- Mark Spry
2002- Ted McIver
2003- Tim Davies
2004- Ted McIver
2005- Tim Davies
2006- Tim Davies
2007- Tim Davies
2008- Trevor Exall
2009- Andy Exall
2010- Marc Chapman
2011- Michael Smith
2012- Michael Smith
2013- Michael Smith
2014- Michael Smith
2016- Michael Smith
2017- Steve Lovell
2018- Michael Smith

This was the first event for the 2018 BMGA Shield and the latest standings can be found 

The next event on the BMGA Tour will be the 2018 English Open being played in Nottingham on Sunday 25th March. Full details about the event, including how to enter, can be found here.

Last Updated ( Friday, 09 March 2018 11:34 )

Previous Events

Sun 02/12/2018
Star City Open 2018

Sun 11/11/2018
Kent Open 2018

Sun 21/10/2018
Club Championships 2018

Sun 07/10/2018
Welsh Open 2018

Sun 16/09/2018
British Open 2018


Log in or register with the BMGA.

Forgot Login?


Who's Online

We have 34 guests online