British Minigolf Association

Donnelly joins the multiple Kent Open winners club after sealing victory at Sidcup PDF Print E-mail

Ten Years and Eleven Opens - the Kent Minigolf Club celebrate this milestone with another great event

The final outdoor event of 2016 took place as the Kent Minigolf club hosted their 11th Open at Mr Mulligans Dino Adventure Golf course in Sdcup. After winning the Guest Kent Invitational Tournament on Saturday 12th November, Will Donnelly then went on to win the Kent Open, defeating 34 other players in the Minigolf tournament held over three-rounds on the Sunday, and by doing so, becoming the third multiple winner of the event, joining Seth Thomas and Sean Homer in this exclusive winners club.

The tournament was played out over 54-holes on the newly relaid 18-hole Dino Adventure Golf Course at Sidcup Family Golf Centre with all players using the official Kent Minigolf Club (KMGC) Kent Open Minigolf Ball – the  only ball used at the Kent Open since the 2013 event. 

2013 Kent Open players
The players get ready for the start of the competition on Sunday morning

Will won the event with a score of 6 under par, beating former Kent Open Champions Andy Exall and Sean Homer by 3 shots with Andy winning the play off for second place at the second sudden death hole.

Speaking after his victory, Will said "I am absolutely thrilled and equally shocked to have won the 2016 Kent Open. I am still getting over the fact that I won the tournament in 2014, let alone again! It is an amazing feeling to win the tournament for the second time and become a two time Kent Open Champion joining Sean Homer (the only three time champion!!) and Seth Thomas in completing this feat. The support and good wishes from all my fellow players has been completely overwhelming. It has been an amazing two days and I would like to put on record my thanks to Sean, Marion and all at the Kent Minigolf Club for organizing a fabulous weekend full of fun, surprises and great minigolf along with surprisingly good weather. It is always fantastic to be looked after so well by the staff at the course, so I would like to thank all the team at Sidcup Family Golf. The tournament was played in fantastic spirits and this was epitomized by the fabulously, hilarious prizes given out at the end! Also I would like to thank Tiger Pragnell for all the time, effort and dedication he has put into the Champions Cup over the course of the year. My highlight of the weekend was without doubt Owen Johnson receiving the award for Kent member of the year. Owen is an absolute inspiration to all of us and the way he plays minigolf is a true testament of his character along with what makes this sport so great. I hope to see as many of you as possible at the next event, the Star City Open before the Winter break."

To commemorate the milestone of the club's tenth anniversary, all the players on Sunday received a specially produced VT Cake which proved popular as the players prepared for the final round of the day. There were also a number of other prize winners at the competition. The 11th place gold medal went to Scott Lancley. Will Donnelly retained his Kent Open junior title. Two players won the Most Improved Player honours with Ed Haynes and Matty Exall picking up the gold medals for their performances. The team event was won by the threesome of Lahti Senior team mates Dave Donnelly, Derek Bentall and Adrian Amey. Three players picked up the 'bags of cash' prize for hole in ones at lane 10 with 9 players achieving a 'Ace Double' (2 out of 3 hole in ones across the same hole). Three players - Martin Greenhead, Sean Homer and Andy Exall all achieved the ultimate triple ace feat (3 out of 3 aces at the same hole). The top player from each of the other clubs (i.e. not the KMGC) picked up a framed photo of the Kent Minigolf Club players with Derek Bentall (Sussex Wasps), Will Donnelly (Miidlands), Terry Exall (Planet Hastings) and Mark Wood (Cambridgeshire and Essex) being the lucky winners of this unique prize. Paul Preston picked up a prize for the top placed 'unattached' club player. The lowest placed club players also picked up 'special' prizes as shown in the photos with Steve Lovell, Adrian Amey, Tiger Pragnell and Marion Hartley being the lucky recipients.

The event culminated with the annual presentation of the VTK Shield, voted for by the members of the club, and awarded to the KMGC Member of the Year. Vice Captain of the Club and 2015 winner, Scott Lancley presented the trophy to Owen Johnson who gave a fantastic speech as he received the plaudits of the players assembled - a fitting way to end the day.

Reflecting on the event, Sean said “This was another brilliant event and a great way to mark ten years as a club. We had great weather and a brilliant turn out for our Open which shows that people enjoy the way we run the competition. Thanks to all who played and of course all of us at the KMGC would once again like to thank Mark Davies and all the team at Sidcup Family Golf Centre for their ongoing support of the Kent Minigolf Club and the event and we look forward to seeing everyone again in 2017! VTK!"

Kent Open Hall of Fame

2016 – Will Donnelly

2015 – Sean Homer

2014 – Will Donnelly

2013 – Michael Smith

2012 – Seth Thomas

2011 – Seth Thomas

2010 – Sean Homer

2009 – Nick Chitty

2008 – Andy Exall

2007 – Sean Homer

2006 – Steve Vallory

Full results from the 2016 Kent Open can be found at

Photos from the 2016 Kent Open (courtesy of the Kent Minigolf Club) can be viewed at

The final event on the 2016 tour is the Star City Open at Birmingham indoor complex on Sunday 4th December. Further details of the competition can be found at 


Last Updated ( Thursday, 24 November 2016 21:13 )

Previous Events

Sun 02/12/2018
Star City Open 2018

Sun 11/11/2018
Kent Open 2018

Sun 21/10/2018
Club Championships 2018

Sun 07/10/2018
Welsh Open 2018

Sun 16/09/2018
British Open 2018


Log in or register with the BMGA.

Forgot Login?


Who's Online

We have 30 guests online