British Minigolf Association

Midlands Minigolf Club take the honours as they win the 2015 Club Championship in Hastings PDF Print E-mail

Midlands win the National Club Miniature Golf Tournament at the 18-hole Pirate Course in Hastings.

The thirteenth annual BMGA British Club Championship saw the Midlands Minigolf Club win the title, the second time in their history, after a daylong tournament played out at the popular Hastings Pirate Course. A total of eight teams from five of the British Minigolf Association’s Clubs entered the event. The Sussex Wasps Minigolf Club team was runner-up, losing to the Midlands A team in the final match played over eighteen holes. The Cambridgeshire & Essex Minigolf Club team defeated the former champions, the Kent Spitfires, in the play-off for third/fourth place.

                                        The winning Midlands Minigolf Club team - Richard Gottfried, Michael Smith (C), Seth Thomas & John Moore

Commenting on the win after the event, Midlands Captain Michael Smith said “I'm pleasantly surprised and delighted that Midlands Minigolf Club are the new British Club Champions. This is great honour for the club, particularly as it comes seven years after our only previous victory. Midlands is a club with a lot of great people in it, and I dedicate this victory to all of them. In terms of the BMGA in general, I thought it was a wonderful event that displayed all the best aspects of the BMGA tour - great organisation, good sportsmanship, and a lot of very good play in extremely testing conditions. I'd like to congratulate all eight teams, and in particular to Sussex Wasps and Cambridgeshire Essex, who put in phenomenal performances by any standards, but especially considering the fact that both clubs are less than a year old"

The BMGA British Club Championship saw the 8 teams placed into 2 groups of 4, seeded based on the results from the abandoned 2014 event. After playing each other in the group, the top 2 teams in each group contested the semi finals and finals for positions 1-4 while the bottom 2 teams in each group played out semis and finals for the placing 5-8: the last matches of the day deciding the positions from 8th place up to the Champions.

Sean Homer, the Chairman of the British Minigolf Association said “The Hastings Pirate course proved to be a great setting for the Club Championship. Congratulations to Midlands for their second club championship title and also to Sussex and Cambridgeshire/Essex on achiving great success in their first Club Championship event. The British Minigolf Association would like to thank all of the teams and players for competing and all of the team at Hastings Seafront for hosting the event. We look forward to returning to the course again later this season for the British Championship and the World Adventure Golf Masters.”

Final Championship Standings were as follows:

1) MIDLANDS 1 - Michael Smith (C), Richard Gottfried, John Moore, Seth Thomas
2) SUSSEX WASPS - Steve Lovell (C), Nuno Cunha, Andy Wilde, Paul Preston
3) CAMBRIDGESHIRE & ESSEX - Mark Wood (C), Chris Wood, Adrian Amey, Emily Gottfried
4) KENT SPITFIRES - Sean Homer (C), Adam Kelly, Will Donnelly, Tony Kelly
5) PLANET HASTINGS - John McIver (C), Dave Gomm, Terry Exall, Trevor Exall
6) KENT HURRICANES - Scott Lancley (C), Dave Donnelly, Martin Greenhead, Tiger Pragnell
7) MIDLANDS 2 - Chris Smith (C), Paul Johnson, Owen Johnson, Brenda Smith
8) KENT HELLCATS - Marion Homer (C), Brian Smith, Ed Haynes

Full match-by-match results from the 2015 BMGA British Minigolf Club Championship can be found at

You can find the team photos at courtesy of the KMGC

BMGA British Club Championships Honours Board:

Kent Minigolf Club – four time champions
Planet Hastings Crazy Golf Club – four time champions
• London Minigolf Club – three time champions
• Midlands Minigolf Club – two time champions

The BMGA British Club Championship was the first competition in the British Minigolf Association’s 2015 season. For further details about the BMGA and UK Minigolf please email This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it or visit

Last Updated ( Wednesday, 04 March 2015 18:14 )

Previous Events

Sun 02/12/2018
Star City Open 2018

Sun 11/11/2018
Kent Open 2018

Sun 21/10/2018
Club Championships 2018

Sun 07/10/2018
Welsh Open 2018

Sun 16/09/2018
British Open 2018


Log in or register with the BMGA.

Forgot Login?


Who's Online

We have 29 guests online