British Minigolf Association

The British Matchplay Championship goes 'old school' in 2015 with a return to its original format PDF Print E-mail

The premier Matchplay event of the year returns to its knockout roots for 2015

The British Matchplay Championship has been dominated by two men in the past 5 years. Michael Smith has won twice (2012 & 2013) with Sean Homer taking the title three times (2010, 2011 & 2014) and so for 2015 the tournament is reverting back to it's original knockout format, mirroring the FA Cup with no seeding, no group stages and random draws to add extra spice to the championship.

Sean Homer, the now 3 time British Matchplay Champion with the trophy, at Bluewater Park, Kent

The tournament will run all season long and will see 5 rounds of matches taking place to decide the champion - the round of 32, Round of 16, Quarter Finals, Semi Finals culminating with the Final (and third place play off) at the World Crazy Golf Championship weekend.

There are just 32 places available for the competition and entries are open now (email This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it or This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it to enter). Entry costs just £5 (payment secures entry into the event) - payable via paypal using the 'send money' option at to This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it . The draw for the opening round will take place once all spaces are taken and will be a random draw - always guaranteed to throw up some epic clashes as the tournament gets under way!

The players will be able to decide between them where and when the tie is to be played (this can be at any 18 hole course) and players are encouraged to take photos and video footage where possible to highlight their own matches (along with announcing the date and venue of the tie in advance to give spectators the chance to attend!).

There are cut off dates for matches in each round to be played (see below) and if players have not played the match by the deadline then the tie will go to a 'pools panel' who will look at how many official BMGA events each player has attended in the timeframe. If one player has attended more then they will be awarded the tie. If however this is not decisive then both players will be disqualified from the championship and one of the losers from a completed match will progress to the next round in their place!

The primary reason for this rule is quite simply to ensure that the matches are played out to a conclusion and players are to bear this in mind before putting their names into the first round draw.

The deadlines for matches are as follows:

* Round 1 - by end of day 17th May.
* Round 2 - by end of day 25th July
* Quarter finals - by end of day 20th September
* Semi Finals - by end of day 22nd October

As stated, the final and third place play off will be contested over the weekend of the World Crazy Golf Championship.

Results from each match will be published on the BMGA website and full details of the rules and format for the Matchplay ties will be communicated when the draw for Round 1 takes place.

Confirmed entrants for the 2015 Championship:

1) Sean Homer (KMGC)
2) Adrian Amey (CEMGC)
3) Nuno Cunha (Vizelgolf)
4) Dave Donnelly (KMGC)
5) Will Donnelly (MMGC)
6) Marion Homer (KMGC)
7) Adam Kelly (KMGC)
8) Steve Lovell (SWMGC)
9) Freddie Blackburn Shaw (PHCGC)
10) Alastair Shaw (PHCGC)
11) Derek Bentall (SWMGC)
12) Tony Kelly (KMGC)
13) Martin Greenhead (KMGC)
14) Owen Johnson (MMGC)
15) Paul Johnson (MMGC)
16) Mark Wood (CEMGC)
17) Michael Smith (MMGC)
18) Chris Smith (MMGC)
19) Andy Wilde (SPMGC)
20) John McIver (PHCGC)
21) Matt Dodd (KMGC)
22) Helen Dodd (KMGC)
23) Paul Preston (SWMGC)
24) Dave Gomm (PHCGC)
25) Tiger Pragnell (MMGC)
26) Scott Lancley (KMGC)
27) Chris Harding (MMGC)
28) Max Plaice (MMGC)
29) Marc Chapman (KMGC)
30) Seth Thomas (MMGC)
31) Chris Wood (CEMGC)
32) James Rutherford (CEMGC) 

British Matchplay Championship hall of fame:

2014 - Sean Homer
2013 - Michael Smith
2012 - Michael Smith
2011 - Sean Homer
2010 - Sean Homer
2009 - Andy Exall
2008 - Tim Davies

Last Updated ( Saturday, 28 March 2015 22:21 )

Previous Events

Sun 02/12/2018
Star City Open 2018

Sun 11/11/2018
Kent Open 2018

Sun 21/10/2018
Club Championships 2018

Sun 07/10/2018
Welsh Open 2018

Sun 16/09/2018
British Open 2018


Log in or register with the BMGA.

Forgot Login?


Who's Online

We have 30 guests online