British Minigolf Association

British Matchplay history made as Sean Homer wins his third Championship title at Bluewater Park PDF Print E-mail
Three's the charm as Homer once again takes the title.

On Sunday 6th July the BMGA tour made a return to Bluewater Park in Kent as the Pirate Cove Adventure Golf Course hosted the BRITISH MATCHPLAY CHAMPIONSHIP.
Sean Homer, Captain of the Kent Minigolf Club. won 7 matches out of 7 across the day, beating team mate Adam Kelly in the final match of the day 5 & 3 to secure his third British Matchplay championship title in five years.

Sean Homer, the now 3 time British Matchplay Champion with the trophy, at Bluewater Park, Kent

Speaking after the event Sean said "I'm delighted to have won the title again. It was always going to be a tough job to win the championship, given the quality of the field and, as always, the standard of play across the day was incredibly high. Winning is always special and it was great to go head to head with Adam, the form player on the tour this year, in the final. I would like to thank all of the players who took part, in particular all my club mates from the Kent Minigolf Club, for making the event such an enjoyable and entertaining day. Roll on 2015!".

In the 3rd place play off match, Steve Lovell beat Dave Gomm 3 & 2 to secure the bronze medal place.

Other prize winners on the day saw Chris Wood win the Pool B Gold medal (Pool B contested between the players who came 3rd and 4th in their groups) beating Paul Preston 5 & 4. Tony Kelly took the Pool B bronze medal match, beating Will Donnelly by 2.

The event saw players drawn at random into 8 groups of 4 with the top 2 in each group progressing to the top 16 knockout stages and the bottom 2 in each group contesting the Pool B knockout matches. A breakdown of all the matches and results from the competition can be found in the document attached to this bulletin.

BMC winners
(L to R): Tony Kelly (Pool B 3rd), Steve Lovell (3rd), Sean (Champion), Adam Kelly (2nd), Paul Preston (Pool B 2nd), Chris Wood (Pool B winner)

Photos of the prize winners can be found at

The BMGA tour moves on to Splash Point in Worthing later this month for the first Splash Point Open and then takes a break for the summer, returning in September with the Midlands Open, the British Doubles Championship, and the second Major of the year, the British Open being held at the Pirate Course in Hastings over the weekend of 20 / 21 September and the traditional warm up event, the Players Championship on Friday 19 September. Full details of all these competitions can be found in the upcoming events section on the BMGA website.

The British Minigolf Association (BMGA) is the governing body for Minigolf Sport, including Crazy Golf and Adventure Golf. Formed in 1998 the BMGA organises Minigolf competitions for its members across the UK.

For further details about the BMGA and UK Minigolf please email This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it or visit
Download this file (2014 Matchplay matrix.xls)2014 Matchplay results matrix[Microsoft Excel file with all the results (Group and Knock out stages) from the competition][20140706]278 Kb
Last Updated ( Monday, 07 July 2014 11:24 )

Previous Events

Sun 02/12/2018
Star City Open 2018

Sun 11/11/2018
Kent Open 2018

Sun 21/10/2018
Club Championships 2018

Sun 07/10/2018
Welsh Open 2018

Sun 16/09/2018
British Open 2018


Log in or register with the BMGA.

Forgot Login?


Who's Online

We have 51 guests online