British Minigolf Association

British Minigolf Championships preview: Strokes in Margate to host the event for the first time PDF Print E-mail
Britain’s leading minigolfers will be in action over the weekend of 10-11 May as the British Minigolf Championships take place at Strokes Adventure Golf Course in Margate, Kent.

A strong field will contest the first major of the British minigolf season, the most prestigious domestic event on the BMGA tour, with all the current top players in BMGA Order Of Merit expected to take part as Strokes hosts the Championships for the first time. Players will be competing for an estimated prize fund of £500 along with trophies and medals for the top placed minigolfers in each of the four Championship categories (General class, Juniors, Womens and Senors) along with the honour of being named British minigolf champion 2014 for the overall winner over the weekend.

James Rutherford - 2013 British Champion
James Rutherford, 2013 British Champion receives the trophy, prize money and medal from Ian Russell at Wroxham Barns 

The tournament will take place over 9 rounds with the first 5 rounds being played on Saturday and the final 4 rounds on Sunday. The first groups will tee off at 10.00 on Saturday morning and the final round, played in reverse leaderboard order, will start at around 3pm on Sunday afternoon. Groups for day one will be published on Friday 9 May (NB the closing date for entries for the competition is midday on Friday 9th). Entry for the event costs £30 for 2014 BMGA Tour Pros, £20 for under 18's and £40 for non tour pros (an entry form for the event can be found at

Michael Smith, the British number 1, and the 2012 British Champion is once again the favourite for the overall title following his outstanding performance at last seasons British Open, held at Strokes. But with all of the current ranked top players taking part along with former Champion John Moore, it promises to be a terrific battle over the weekend.
As well as the overall British Champion title, the British Minigolf Championships incorporates the British senior (over 45), junior (under 19) and women’s championships.

In the senior event, Sean Homer will be looking to retain the title he won at last years event while making his début as a senior in the championship and will face stiff competition from team mate and 2011 Senior Champion Tony Kelly as well a facing a strong line-up of other seniors. Adam Kelly is the hot favourite to win his fifth British junior title in succession as he makes his final appearance in the junior class. However, he faces a strong challenge from fellow Great Britain Youth team player Will Donnelly, who has risen to number 5 in the rankings and will be hoping to take home the junior title come Sunday evening.

Strokes is one of the top courses in the UK and although it is hosting the British Championships for the first time, it has great pedigree on the BMGA tour having hosted the Kent Open, the British Masters and the British Open several times since opening in 2006. BMGA Chairman Sean Homer said "We are delighted to see Strokes hosting our biggest domestic competiton and one of our flagship events of the season. It has always been a very popular venue with our players and will provide a fitting challenge to everyone who takes part."

Full round by round results will be streamed live from Saturday morning at 

At close of play on Satuiray and prior to the fiinal round on Sunday afternoon there will be Hole-in-One Charity Challenges, which are open to anyone who wants to take part and not just those playing in the British Championships. These events proved to be a popular addition to the tour, with all players having a single attempt at making a hole-in-one. Players pay £1 to enter with 50% of the proceeds going to charity and 50% to the prize fund which is divided between all players who succeed in ‘acing’ the hole.

For further information about the British Minigolf Championships follow this link or minigolf in the UK, contact BMGA chairman Sean Homer via This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it or see the BMGA website at
Last Updated ( Monday, 05 May 2014 09:14 )

Previous Events

Sun 02/12/2018
Star City Open 2018

Sun 11/11/2018
Kent Open 2018

Sun 21/10/2018
Club Championships 2018

Sun 07/10/2018
Welsh Open 2018

Sun 16/09/2018
British Open 2018


Log in or register with the BMGA.

Forgot Login?


Who's Online

We have 29 guests online