British Minigolf Association

James Rutherford triumphs in Norfolk to become British Champion for the second time PDF Print E-mail
Rutherford becomes British Champion for the second time in 3 years

The two day BRITISH CHAMPIONSHIPS was contested at Wroxham Barns in Norfork (the course having previously hosted the event in 2010) across the weekend of 11th and 12th May.  After seven rounds of outstanding minigolf James Rutherford (Cambridgeshire Minigolf Club) took the title for the second time in his minigolf career with a superb performance including setting a new course record of 27 in round 4 of the competition.

James Rutherford - 2013 British Champion
James receives the trophy, prize money and medal from Ian Russell

Speaking after picking up the trophy and gold medal James said “It is a fantastic feeling to get my hands on this trophy again. The course at Wroxham Barns is one of my favourites in the country and I was delighted to secure my second major there. I have been so close to winning a number of tournaments in the past few years, but not managed to get past that final hurdle, so this is a massive win for me and it is something that I determined to build on. I went into the last round with a commanding lead and I managed to turn what should have been a relaxing 18 holes into quite a nail biting finish, but this is only testament to the players that I was playing against and their determination to never give up. This is the first major that my club (Cambridgeshire Mini Golf Club) have won and I would like to thank all my team mates for their support over the weekend. We have a lot of talent at the club, so let’s hope this is the first of many more!"

 James was pushed all the way across the weeking by a number of players at the top of their game but after a nervy final few holes he picked up the title again. Adam Kelly took 2nd place with Michael Smith 3rd, Sean Homer 4th and Tony Kelly 5th (all members of the Kent Minigolf Club)

As well as the overall British Champion being crowned, the event also see the British Senior and British Junior titles being fought out across the 2 day, seven round event.  Sean Homer won the Senior title (making his debut in the class) with Tony Kelly 2nd and Chris Smith 3rd. Adam Kelly made his own piece of BMGA history by winning the junior title for the 4th year in a row with Will Donnelly 2nd and Ben Waller, making his BMGA tour debut, in 3rd place.

Brad Shepherd won the category 1 Aces prize, Alan Norman won the category 2/3 aces prize and Sean Homer and Gareth Holmes won the team event (with the teams comprising of the players grouped together for round one of the championship).

British Championship winners
The British Championship prize winners at the 16th hole at the Wroxham course 

BMGA Chairman Sean Homer said “We always have a tremedous event when we visit Wroxham and this years event was no exception. It is amazing to see how much our players have improved over the past few years. When Wroxham hosted the British Championships in 2010 we saw some superb scores and it's worth noting that the top 4 players this year all finished with a better average than the winner that year. James' new course record was a highlight of the event and he is a worthy champion once again. I would like to thank all who played at the event, our Tournament Director Marion Homer. Brenda Smith for running the Hole In One Challenge on Sunday and Ian Russell and his team at Wroxham Barns for their superb hospitality."

Full results of the 2013 BMGA British Championships can be found at 

A photo gallery of the event courtesy of the Kent Minigolf Club can be found at

The event also saw the Wroxham Barns Championship Charity Pro-Am take place on the Friday evening in association with Wroxham Barns (at the Championship course) in aid of MacMillan Cancer Support trust. The Wroxham Barns Allstars team won the event, with James Rutherford as their pro-player and the full results can be found at

Following their respective successes at the Championships, James and Sean are now preparing to represent Great Britain at the upcoming WMF Nations Cup being held in Bad Munder, Germany on 18 /19 May. The Great Britain squad will be taking on all comers in a number of events this season. As well as the Nations Cup, Great Britain will be competing in the World Adventure Golf Masters in Hastings, the WMF Youth Championships in Portugal before taking a full strength mens team to Germany in August to compete against the best teams in the World at the WMF World Championships

The next event on the BMGA tour is the World Adventure Golf Masters at the Pirate Minigolf Course in Hastings across the weekend of June 15 / 16 - full details can be found at

The British Minigolf Association (BMGA) is the governing body for Minigolf Sport, including Crazy Golf and Adventure Golf. Formed in 1998 the BMGA organises Minigolf competitions for its members across the UK. 

During the 2012 season the British Minigolf Association organised a total of 28 Minigolf tournaments around the country. This included fourteen ranking events at eleven Miniature Golf, Crazy Golf and Adventure Golf courses. There were a further fourteen Minigolf competitions played during the year and a number of additional non-ranking titles contested. A total of 22 players won a Minigolf title in 2012.

For further details about the BMGA and UK Minigolf please email
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it or visit
Last Updated ( Monday, 13 May 2013 15:39 )

Previous Events

Sun 02/12/2018
Star City Open 2018

Sun 11/11/2018
Kent Open 2018

Sun 21/10/2018
Club Championships 2018

Sun 07/10/2018
Welsh Open 2018

Sun 16/09/2018
British Open 2018


Log in or register with the BMGA.

Forgot Login?


Who's Online

We have 28 guests online