British Minigolf Association

British Minigolf Association’s End of 2012 Season Only Rankings Published PDF Print E-mail

Michael Smith from Oxford tops the BMGA’s Season Only National Minigolf Rankings for 2012.

The British Minigolf Association’s 2012 season has come to an end and the final ranking lists have been published. In the BMGA’s Season Only Rankings for 2012 Oxford’s Michael Smith was ranked number one with a total of 7,130 points. Cambridge’s James Rutherford was second on 5,355 points and Sean Homer from Greenhithe, Kent was third with 5,285 ranking points. Rounding out the top five were Adam Kelly from Linton, Cambridgeshire on 4,965 points and Luton’s Richard Gottfried with 2,340 points.

A total of 120 players were ranked in the BMGA 2012 Season Only Ranking List. Amongst the players who qualified for the rankings by playing in a BMGA individual strokeplay event during the year are players from England, Scotland, Germany, Finland, Sweden, New Zealand, the Czech Republic and the USA.

The top 16 players in the BMGA 2012 Season Only Ranking List were:
1. Michael SMITH
3. Sean HOMER
4. Adam KELLY
5. Richard GOTTFRIED
6. Ruth BURKE
10. Scott LANCLEY
11. John MCIVER
12. Tony KELLY
13. Seth THOMAS
16. Chris SMITH

The full BMGA 2012 Season Only Ranking List can be found at

In the Club Season Only Rankings for 2012 the eighteen-player Kent Minigolf Club led the way with 288 points. The Cambridgeshire Mini Golf Club was second with 118 points from their ten players. The thirteen players from the Midlands Minigolf Club put the team in third place on 72 points. London Minigolf Club was fourth with 36 points from the eight competing players. The Planet Hastings Crazy Golf Club was fifth with 27 points from six players and Splash Point Mini Golf Club was sixth with thirteen points from the one player represented in a ranking event.

The British Minigolf Association is the governing body for Minigolf Sport, including Crazy Golf and Adventure Golf. Formed in 1998 the BMGA organises Minigolf competitions for its members across the UK. The BMGA is a member of the World Minigolf Sport Federation (WMF) and the European Minigolf Sport Federation (EMF). For further details about the BMGA and UK Minigolf please email This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it or visit

During 2012 the BMGA organised a total of 28 Minigolf tournaments around the country. This included fourteen ranking events at eleven Miniature Golf, Crazy Golf and Adventure Golf courses. There were a further fourteen Minigolf competitions played during the year and a number of additional non-ranking titles contested. A total of 22 players won a Minigolf title in 2012. BMGA British Number One Michael Smith added eleven victories to his career record of 20 BMGA Tour career wins. Chris Harding, Richard Gottfried, Nick Chitty, John McIver and Seth Thomas also won BMGA Tour titles in 2012. The BMGA Roll of Honour for 2012 can be found at

Both Free and paid BMGA Tour Pro Membership of the BMGA is available. Further information can be found at

Photos from many of the 2012 British Minigolf Association Tour events (courtesy of the Kent Minigolf Club) can be viewed at the KMGC Flickr page

The British Minigolf Association’s 2013 Tour tees-off at the BMGA Star City Open at Adventure Island Mini Golf in Birmingham on Sunday 27th January 2013, full details of the event can be found at