British Minigolf Association

Kent Minigolf Club Retain the BMGA British Club Championship Title at Basingstoke Golf Centre PDF Print E-mail

Kent Spitfires Team Wins National Club Miniature Golf Tournament at the 9-hole Mini Golf Course in Basingstoke, Hampshire.

The eleventh annual BMGA British Club Championship saw the Kent Minigolf Club win the title for the third year in a row after a daylong tournament played out at the Basingstoke Golf Centre’s 9-hole Mini Golf course. A total of twelve teams from seven of the British Minigolf Association’s Clubs entered the event. The Cambridgeshire Mini Golf Club’s ‘Meerkat’ team was runner-up, losing to the ‘Kent Spitfires’ in the final match played over twelve holes. The Midlands Minigolf Club’s ‘A’ team defeated the Cambridgeshire Mini Golf Club’s ‘Mongoose’ team in the play-off for third/fourth place.

The winning Kent Minigolf Club ‘Spitfires’ team consisted of Michael Smith, Adam Kelly, Marc Chapman and team captain Sean Homer.

Commenting on the third win in a row, Kent Minigolf Club Captain Sean Homer said “Retaining the British Club Championship title on Sunday was a very proud moment for all of us in the Kent Minigolf Club. We were confident going into the event that we could make it three titles in a row and the spirit and determination within the squad of twelve players was very high. The Spitfires may have hit the winning putt to seal the title against a strong Cambridgeshire team in the final match of the weekend, but this is absolutely a victory for everyone at the KMGC. It was incredible to see all three of our teams top their respective groups on Sunday, winning all of their matches and it really shows how strong the talent is within the club. Perhaps most encouraging was that we had four players making their British Club Championship debuts on Sunday – Alex Pragnell, Dave Donnelly and Phil Exall in the Tornados, and Will Donnelly in the Hurricanes. All four performed superbly alongside our more experienced players and with more new players coming through for next year, the club continues to go from strength to strength. The victory was a fitting climax to another brilliant year for the Kent Minigolf Club and of course we will be looking to make BMGA club history next year with our fourth title in a row. VTK.“

The BMGA British Club Championship saw the twelve teams drawn into three groups in which each team played each other once, with the top two teams in each group automatically qualifying for the quarter finals. The best two third place teams also qualified for the knockout stage. A sudden-death play-off was required between the Midlands Minigolf Club’s ‘A’ and ‘B’ teams to see which side went through to the next round, with the MMGC ‘A’ team winning at the first-hole.

British Minigolf Association spokesman Richard Gottfried said “The Basingstoke Golf Centre's Mini Golf course was a great setting for the 2012 BMGA British Club Championship and proved a good test for the teams taking part. The eleventh edition of the tournament saw the largest field ever compete in the British Club Championship and the British Minigolf Association would like to thank all of the teams and players for competing and all of the team at Basingstoke Golf Centre for hosting the event. We’re looking forward to a return to Basingstoke for more BMGA tournaments in the future.”

BMGA British Club Championships Honours Board:

• Planet Hastings Crazy Golf Club – four time champions
• Kent Minigolf Club – three-time champions
• London Minigolf Club – three-time champions
• Midlands Minigolf Club – one time champions

The 2012 BMGA British Club Championship was the largest edition of the event since it began in 2002. The Minigolf Clubs that competed at Basingstoke Golf Centre were – the Kent Minigolf Club; Basingstoke Minigolf Club; Cambridgeshire Mini Golf Club; Hampshire Minigolf Club; London Minigolf Club; Midlands Minigolf Club and the Planet Hastings Crazy Golf Club.

Final Rankings of the 2012 BMGA British Club Championship:

1. KENT MINIGOLF CLUB (KMGC) - The Spitfires - Michael Smith, Adam Kelly, Marc Chapman, Sean Homer (C)
2. CAMBRIDGESHIRE MINI GOLF CLUB (CMGC) - The Meerkats - Oliver Florence, Richard Skeggs, Seth Thomas, James Rutherford (C)
3. MIDLANDS MINIGOLF CLUB A (MMGC) - John Moore, Richard Gottfried, Leo Kukielka, Paul Johnson (C)
4. CAMBRIDGESHIRE MINI GOLF CLUB (CMGC) - The Mongooses - Craig Patterson, Chris Smith, Brenda Smith, Emily Gottfried (C)
5. KENT MINIGOLF CLUB (KMGC) - The Hurricanes - Tony Kelly, Will Donnelly, Andy Exall, Scott Lancley (C)
6. KENT MINIGOLF CLUB (KMGC) - The Tornados - Alex Pragnell, Dave Donnelly, Phil Exall, Marion Homer (C)
7. PLANET HASTINGS CRAZY GOLF CLUB (PHCGC) - Nick Chitty, Alastair Shaw, Freddie Blackburn-Shaw, John McIver (C)
8. LONDON MINIGOLF CLUB A (LMGC) - Ruth Burke, Steve Study, Steve Gow
9. MIDLANDS MINIGOLF CLUB B (MMGC) - Seve Kukielka, Cindy Kukielka, Owen Johnson (C)
10. LONDON MINIGOLF CLUB B (LMGC) - Jon Angel, Alexander Shaw, Lionel Bender
11. BASINGSTOKE MINIGOLF CLUB (BMGC) - Dave Ward, Charlie Howard, Tony Cook (C)

Full match-by-match results from the 2012 BMGA British Minigolf Club Championship can be found at

Photos from the 2012 BMGA British Minigolf Club Championship, courtesy of the Kent Minigolf Club, can be found at

The BMGA British Club Championship was the final competition in the British Minigolf Association’s season. During 2012 the BMGA organised a total of 28 Minigolf tournaments around the country. This included fourteen ranking events at eleven Miniature Golf, Crazy Golf and Adventure Golf courses. There were a further fourteen Minigolf competitions played during the year and a number of additional non-ranking titles contested. A total of 22 players won a Minigolf title in 2012. BMGA British Number One Michael Smith added eleven victories to his career record of 20 BMGA Tour career wins. Chris Harding, Richard Gottfried, Nick Chitty, John McIver and Seth Thomas also won BMGA Tour titles in 2012.

The BMGA Roll of Honour for 2012 can be found at

For further details about the BMGA and UK Minigolf please email
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it or visit

Both Free and paid BMGA Tour Pro Membership of the BMGA is available. Further information can be found at

For more information on Basingstoke Golf Centre please visit