British Minigolf Association

British Minigolf Association to return to Margate for the 2012 BMGA British International Open PDF Print E-mail

Strokes Adventure Golf in Margate, Kent to host three BMGA Tour Miniature Golf Competitions in September 2012.

The British Minigolf Association makes its return to the 18-hole Strokes Adventure Golf course on Westbrook Promenade in Margate, Kent as the course plays host to the 15th annual BMGA British International Open. The BMGA British International Open will take place on Saturday 22nd and Sunday 23rd September, with players from England, Scotland, Ireland, Germany, Finland, Sweden and New Zealand set to be represented.

The Strokes Adventure Golf course previously hosted the BMGA British Open in 2007, 2008 and 2009. The reigning BMGA British Open champion is Canterbury’s Marc Chapman, who became the first UK player to lift the title. Four former BMGA British International Open Champions will also be lining up to compete for the 2012 title. They are Mattias Ståhl (SWE), Torgny Kjellström (SWE), Jouni Valkjärvi (FIN) and Karsten Hein (GER).

Friday 21st of September will see players prepare for the weekend’s main-event with the BMGA Players Championship and BMGA International Players Championship. Last year Oxford’s Michael Smith and Sweden’s Maths Svensson won the contests.

Spectators are welcome to attend the Minigolf events over the weekend and can find out more about the sport of Minigolf from the BMGA Tour players and international competitors. The final rounds of the BMGA British Open and prize-giving will take place at the Strokes Adventure Golf course on Sunday afternoon.

BMGA Chairman Sean Homer said “The BMGA is delighted to be making its return to Strokes Adventure Golf course for the BMGA British International Open this year. The course is regarded as one of the best in the UK and is a fitting venue for our premier event of the year.”

The format of the BMGA British Open tournament will see all players competing over four rounds on Saturday. A cut will then be made, with the top 36 players (and ties) or any player making the qualifying score (176 strokes or lower) making it through to play on day two. The Sunday will see the qualifiers play another two rounds with the top-18 players then progressing to the Super Final round to decide the overall winner. The results of the competition can be followed online here.

Strokes Adventure Golf course owner Matt Wood said “I am extremely pleased that Strokes Adventure Golf will be the host venue for the BMGA British Open 2012. We originally held the competition in 2007 and 2009 was the last time we hosted the British Open and I can honestly say we have missed this event. All three times we have held the British Open conjures up fond memories. Karsten Hein, normally being the first foreign participant to arrive early in the week, then the Swedish boys on a Wednesday. The best round I have ever seen would have to be Tim Davies in 2009, for its brilliance and its implosive nature, to take our course apart all the way through to hole 16, at this point on for a round of 26 I believe, and to blow up so spectacularly on three easy holes takes some doing. Björn Dinau and Nick Chitty joint course record holders with scores of 30 were special moments. Most of all though for Strokes, is the general vibe and feel of the course for the whole week, having the pleasure of the foreign players over here and the British players all of them great characters and we can’t wait for the week to begin. As always we’ll make sure the course is in absolute tip top condition, we will also throw in £50 for the first player to go sub 30, during a British Open round.”

The Strokes Adventure Golf course in Margate has been the venue for many prestigious Miniature Golf tournaments and has previously hosted the BMGA British Open, BMGA Players Championship, BMGA British Masters, Kent Open and Kent Invitational Tournament.

BMGA British International Open Roll of Honour:
2011 Marc Chapman (ENG)
2010 Eirik Seljelid (SWE)
2009 Torgny Kjellström (SWE)
2008 Mattias Ståhl (SWE)
2007 Jouni Valkjärvi (FIN)
2006 Karsten Hein (GER)
2005 Jouni Valkjärvi (FIN)
2004 Thierry Cruybeeck (BEL)
2003 Christian Zimmermann (GER)
2002 Heinz Weber (AUT)
2001 Heinz Weber (AUT)
2000 Heinz Weber (AUT)
1999 Thomas Zeininger (AUT)
1998 Thomas Zeininger (AUT)

Full entry details for the BMGA British International Open can be found on the BMGA website at

The British Minigolf Association (BMGA) always welcomes new members. Anyone living in the UK and aged at least 14 can join in the fun. For 2012 the BMGA is again offering two tiers of membership. BMGA Tour Card Membership costs £20 and entitles players to discounted pre-event practice rates at tournament venues on the calendar (some venues will offer these rates all season). Alternatively you can register for free membership via the BMGA website, ensuring you receive regular newsletters on forthcoming events and results from the BMGA tour.

The BMGA Tour consists of Minigolf ranking events that take place at Minigolf, Crazy Golf and Adventure Golf courses across the UK. In 2011 there were 22 Ranking BMGA Tour competitions and a total of 12 players lifted BMGA Tour titles in Open, Invitational, Club and Doubles events.

For further details about the BMGA and UK Minigolf please email This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it or visit

For more information on the Strokes Adventure Golf course in Margate please visit

Last Updated ( Monday, 17 September 2012 21:55 )

Previous Events

Sun 02/12/2018
Star City Open 2018

Sun 11/11/2018
Kent Open 2018

Sun 21/10/2018
Club Championships 2018

Sun 07/10/2018
Welsh Open 2018

Sun 16/09/2018
British Open 2018


Log in or register with the BMGA.

Forgot Login?


Who's Online

We have 27 guests online