British Minigolf Association

Lewisham’s James Rutherford wins the 2011 BMGA British Minigolf Championship PDF Print E-mail
Rutherford wins Minigolf ‘Major’ at first attempt

James Rutherford - 2011 British Champion

Lewisham’s James ‘The Rocket’ Rutherford won the British Minigolf Association’s 2011 British Championships minigolf tournament at the 18-hole Green Indoor Mini Golf in Hither Green, London on Sunday 26th June.

Rutherford, won the seven-round, two-day event with a score of 226(-26) after rounds of 32, 29, 35, 32, 33, 34, and 31. Oxford’s Michael Smith was the runner-up, seven shots back on 233(-19). Canterbury’s Marc Chapman was third on 238(-14).

New BMGA British Champion James Rutherford said “It was a tense and exciting weekend of minigolf action, and it was really close right until the end. This is my first full season in minigolf and I am delighted that I have been able to win a major so soon. Saying that, it is the culmination of a lot of hard work. Being my home course I knew I had a chance but to realise that is just a dream come true! I hope this is the first of many.”

The BMGA British Championships was the first Minigolf ‘Major’ of the 2011 BMGA Tour Season and also saw the BMGA British Seniors and BMGA British Juniors Titles contested.

Cambridgeshire’s Tony Kelly won the BMGA British Senior Championships, with a score of 256(+4) and seventh place overall. London’s Alan Norman was runner-up, with 264(+12), and Hither Green’s David Donnelly was third with 287(+35).

In the junior competition, Cambridgeshire’s Adam Kelly retained his BMGA British Juniors title with a score of 238(-14) and fourth place overall. Wandsworth’s Seth Thomas was runner-up, with 254(+2), and Hither Green’s William Donnelly was third with a score of 294(+42).

In other results from the two-day tournament, Seth Thomas won the Category Two competition, with Alan Norman second and Oxford’s Chris Smith third. David Donnelly won the top novice prize and Greenhithe’s Sean Homer won the Aces Championship.

BMGA Chairman Sean Homer said “Thanks to all who took part and to Nick Sandqvist, the course owner, for his ongoing support of the BMGA and for providing a top class venue for the British Championship.

The 2011 British Championship field

Full results from the event can be found at

A photostream from the event can be found at (courtesy of the Kent Minigolf Club)

Since opening in January 2010 The Green Indoor Mini Golf course has also hosted the BMGA British Club Championships, London Open, Green Open, and the Green Doubles minigolf competitions.

For more information on The Green Indoor Mini Golf course please visit
Download this file (NS - BMGA British Championships 2011 270611 post final (2).doc)BMGA British Championships - The Green, Hither Green (25th / 26th June)[Downloadable press release][20110625]39 Kb
Last Updated ( Friday, 27 April 2012 12:32 )

Previous Events

Sun 02/12/2018
Star City Open 2018

Sun 11/11/2018
Kent Open 2018

Sun 21/10/2018
Club Championships 2018

Sun 07/10/2018
Welsh Open 2018

Sun 16/09/2018
British Open 2018


Log in or register with the BMGA.

Forgot Login?


Who's Online

We have 31 guests online