British Minigolf Association

Sean Homer wins 2010 Kent Open at World of Golf, Sidcup PDF Print E-mail
Minigolf Tournament Report – Sean Homer wins 2010 Kent Open at World of Golf, Sidcup

Sean Homer from Greenhithe, Kent won the Kent Open for the second time, as he defeated 21 players at the fifth annual Kent Open, held at the 36-hole Lost Island Encounter Adventure Golf course at World of Golf, Sidcup, on Sunday November 14th.

Sean, the Captain of the Kent Minigolf Club, won the event following a sudden-death play-off against his team mate Tony Kelly, after both players had scored 108 (par) in regulation play.

New Kent Open Champion Sean Homer said “I’m delighted to have won the Kent Open for the second time – and both times I’ve had to do it with an ace on the first play-off hole. It was an incredibly close competition and a fantastic venue to play out the fifth anniversary of our clubs’ Open event. Tony pushed me all the way in the final round but I was determined to win and become the first two-time Kent Open Champion. For me it was a great way to finish off a great year outdoors!”

In third place was John McIver from Hastings, who beat Adam Kelly in a sudden-death play-off for the last podium place.

A total of 22 players entered the Kent Open and the event also saw Cambridge’s Adam Kelly retain the Junior Kent Open title, with Lewisham’s Seth Thomas taking the runner-up Junior slot along with the top novice prize. James Davies was the third placed Junior in a field of five.

For the first-time ever the Kent Open also hosted a Team Tournament, run in parallel with the main-event. In this Michael Smith, Richard Gottfried and James Davies took the honours in the seven team competition.

Marion Homer of the BMGA and KMGC said “Thanks to Mark, Glenn, Jo and all of the team at World Of Golf for their superb hospitality and welcome, it was a pleasure to run the tournament at the Lost Island Encounter as a result.”

The Kent Open Hall Of Fame

2010 Winner – Sean Homer (ave 36.0)
2009 Winner – Nick Chitty (ave. 36.0)
2008 Winner – Andy Exall (ave. 35.0)
2007 Winner – Sean Homer (ave. 37.3)
2006 Winner – Steve Vallory (ave. 39.5)

Full results from the 2010 Kent Open can be found at

Photos from the tournament courtesy of the KMGC can be found at

Kent Invitational Tournament

Saturday 13th November saw the culmination of the season long Kent Invitational Tournament (KIT). In the two-round final Michael Smith picked up the win, with Adam Kelly runner-up, and Marc Chapman third. Full results from the two-round KIT Final can be found at

A report of the 2010 Kent Open written by KMGC Member Michael ‘Hole In One Kenobi’ Smith can be found at

For further details about the BMGA and UK Minigolf and Crazy Golf please email This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it , or visit

For more information about the Kent Minigolf Club please email
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it or visit
Download this file (NS - Kent Open 2010 - post 171110.doc)Kent Open tournament report[Downloadable press release][ ]34 Kb
Last Updated ( Wednesday, 17 November 2010 15:00 )

Upcoming Events

Sun 07/10/2018
Welsh Open 2018

Sun 21/10/2018
Club Championships 2018

Sun 11/11/2018
Kent Open 2018

Sun 02/12/2018
Star City Open 2018

Previous Events

Sun 16/09/2018
British Open 2018

Sun 02/09/2018
Sussex Wasps Open 2018

Sun 29/07/2018
British Matchplay Championship 2018

Sat 28/07/2018
Midlands Open 2018

Sun 15/07/2018
British Doubles Championship 2018


Log in or register with the BMGA.

Forgot Login?


Who's Online

We have 45 guests online