British Minigolf Association

Oxford’s Michael Smith wins the Third Annual Weymouth Open at Lodmoor Country Park PDF Print E-mail
Oxford’s Michael Smith wins the Third Annual Weymouth Open at Lodmoor Country Park

The third annual Weymouth Open minigolf competition was won by Oxford’s Michael Smith, with a ten shot margin over Kent Minigolf Club team mate Sean Homer. Smith scored rounds of 38 and 37 to record two new course records, breaking the old record of 41, to lift the title with a 36-hole total of 75(+3). Michael’s win was his first BMGA Tour victory, having debuted in January 2010.

The 2009 Weymouth Open Champion Kevin Moseley finished in tied third-place, with Top Junior Player Matthew Harding, after both scored 44 and 43 for a total of 87. Chris Smith and Chris Harding were in tied fifth-place, also scoring 87, but with a slightly worse round difference than Moseley or Harding Jnr.

The competition took place at the 18-hole Pirate Adventure Golf course at the Sea Life Centre in Lodmoor Country Park in Weymouth, Dorset on Sunday 10th October, and saw 18-players competing in three prize categories (overall winner, best local and best junior).

Weymouth Sea Life Centre Staff, fans and players alike were happy to see that a play-off was required again to decide the winner of one category – the 2009 title was also decided by play-off. This time a play-off was needed to see who would become the 2010 Top Local Player after Gary Wall and Allun Wakefield had both scored 99. Gary Wall eventually won on the third extra hole, after Allun had hit one of the shots of the tournament to keep the match alive on the first hole.

Video footage of the 2010 Weymouth Open sudden-death play-off for the ‘Top Local Player Prize between Gary Wall and Allun Wakefield:

Play-off Coin Toss & Hole 1 –
Play-off Hole 2 –
Play-off Hole 3 –  

Full results list:
PositionPlayerRound 1Round 2Total
1Michael Smith383775
2Sean Homer444185
3=Kevin Moseley444387
3=Matthew Harding444387
5=Chris Smith454287
5=Chris Harding424587
7Richard Gottfried444488
8Paul Johnson514091
9Katie Wall494998
10Peter Jones504898
11=Marc Bazeley485199
11=Gary Wall514899
13Allun Wakefield534699
14Alison Wall5256108
15Chris Hough5259111
16James Burleigh5657113
17Owen Johnson6159120
18Matt Burleigh6371134

The tournament was organised by Pirate Adventure Golf Course Manager Ian Clayton and the staff at the Weymouth Sea Life Centre, and supported by the British Minigolf Association.

In an interesting minigolf fact, only four holes-in-one were scored at the tournament, with Michael Smith bagging two, and Richard Gottfried and Owen Johnson achieving the others.

The next tournaments on the BMGA Tour calendar are the London Invitational Tournament in East Finchley, the Castle Golf World Crazy Golf Championships in Hastings at the end of October, the Kent Open in Sidcup in mid November, and the season closing Green Open at Hither Green in December.
Download this file (Weymouth Open 2010 - post 121010.doc)Weymouth Open report[Downloadable press release][ ]60 Kb
Last Updated ( Wednesday, 13 October 2010 11:09 )

Previous Events

Sun 02/12/2018
Star City Open 2018

Sun 11/11/2018
Kent Open 2018

Sun 21/10/2018
Club Championships 2018

Sun 07/10/2018
Welsh Open 2018

Sun 16/09/2018
British Open 2018


Log in or register with the BMGA.

Forgot Login?


Who's Online

We have 23 guests online