British Minigolf Association

Worthing’s Splash Point Mini Golf course hosts the BMGA British Matchplay Championships – 4th July PDF Print E-mail
Worthing’s new 18-hole Splash Point Mini Golf course has been selected to host its first official British Minigolf Association competition on Sunday 4th July, as 32 of the UK’s top minigolfers will be competing in the third BMGA British Matchplay Championships. 

The tournament tees-off at the Denton Gardens course at 9am on Sunday 4th July, and will see each of the 32 players competing in a knockout competition for the coveted British Matchplay Title. Each player will play five matches through the day, with the player who wins all five of their games being crowned the 2010 BMGA British Matchplay Champion.

In an exciting twist thrown up in the draw for the event, the two course owners – Anthony Pope and Peter Emmerson – will face each other in the first round, with the winner going on to contest for title glory, and the loser playing for pride in the 17th-32nd place pool of matches. 

Course owner Anthony Pope said Splash Point Mini Golf is proving to be a popular seafront attraction for Worthing's families this summer and we're looking forward to the course being put through its paces by the top Minigolfers in the country. 

BMGA Chairman Sean Homer said “The British Matchplay Championship is a really unique event in our calendar. The un-seeded live draws have become a highlight of the minigolf year in their own right with some terrific ties thrown up as a result over the past two years. 2010 sees a significant change for the event with the competition played out across a single day on one course, rather than the season-long format of 2008 and 2009. The first round ties have already thrown up some classic match ups – the current champion Andy Exall versus the reigning British number one Chris Harding. Two of the current form players from Kent, Marc Chapman and Michael Smith going head to head. And perhaps the tie of the round, with the course owners and designers paired up in a battle of the Splash Point minigolfers with Anthony Pope and Peter Emmerson facing each other. Each subsequent round on the day will no doubt throw up more great matches and with five rounds guaranteed for every player, we are in for a treat of matchplay minigolf on the 4th July. It’s impossible to call the winner at this stage and the only thing that is certain is that the player that wins all five of their matches will be crowned the BMGA British Matchplay Champion for 2010!

The line-up of the first round of matches is below. Tee-off time for round one is 9am.
Match 1. Michael Smith v Marc Chapman
Match 2. Leo Kukielka v Nick Chitty
Match 3. Anthony Pope v Peter Emmerson   
Match 4. Chris Harding v Andy Exall
Match 5. Rocky Bullin v Oliver Florence
Match 6. Scott Lancley v Alan Norman     
Match 7. Cindy Kukielka v Richard Gottfried
Match 8. Chris Jones v Trevor Robertson
Match 9. Brad Shepherd v Tim Davies
Match 10. Sean Homer v Owen Johnson
Match 11. Marion Homer v Trevor Exall
Match 12. Richard Skeggs v Ruth Bullin
Match 13. Gareth Holmes v John McIver
Match 14. Jas Kukielka v Paul Johnson
Match 15. Stuart Lovejoy v Adam Kelly
Match 16. Tony Kelly v Martin Robertson

BMGA British Matchplay Championships Honours Board

2009 – Andy Exall, from Paddock Wood, defeated Newcastle’s John Moore 5&4 at the Hastings Seafront Crazy Golf course to lift the title

2008 –Tim ‘Ace Man’ Davies, from Hastings, defeated Andy Exall 5&4 at the Hastings Seafront Crazy Golf course to lift the title

Download this file (BMGA British Matchplay Championships 2010.doc)Press Release[Downloadable Press release for the 2010 British Matchplay Championship][ ]39 Kb
Last Updated ( Saturday, 26 June 2010 17:42 )

Previous Events

Sun 02/12/2018
Star City Open 2018

Sun 11/11/2018
Kent Open 2018

Sun 21/10/2018
Club Championships 2018

Sun 07/10/2018
Welsh Open 2018

Sun 16/09/2018
British Open 2018


Log in or register with the BMGA.

Forgot Login?


Who's Online

We have 25 guests online