British Minigolf Association

Keith Kellard wins the 2009 BMGA British Championships PDF Print E-mail

Keith Kellard won the twelfth annual BMGA British Minigolf Championships held at the Sea Front Minigolf course in Hastings on Saturday 4th and Sunday 5th July. Leading through all seven rounds Kellard, from Bishop's Stortford, beat 30 competitors to lift the title with a total score of 241 (-11), an average of 1.91 shots per hole. His win moves him up to 11th place, from 19th, in the BMGA Order of Merit Rankings.

Keith Kellard - British Champion 2009
Second was former British champion Tim Davies from Hastings with a score of 247 (-5) with Brighton’s Peter Emmerson, picking up third place and his second top-three finish in a week, with a score of 250(-2).

New BMGA British Champion and London Minigolf Club member Keith Kellard said “I’m very pleased to have won the title on a great course and against a quality field of players. After leading throughout the first day I knew the sixth round was where I had to keep it together. To win by six shots is a great feeling.”

In addition to the British Championship title the BMGA British Junior Championship, BMGA British Women’s Championship and BMGA British Seniors Championship was also contested during the tournament.

St Leonards on Sea’s Great Britain Junior International Rocky Bullin retained his BMGA British Junior Championship to become a four-time British Junior Champion in a hard fought contest against Cambridge’s Adam Kelly. Birmingham’s Owen Johnson was third.

Jo Williamson of the Planet Hastings Crazy Golf Club became the new BMGA British Women’s Champion, defeating five-time champion Ruth Bullin who finished second. Emily Gottfried from Luton was third.

In addition to his second place in the main tournament Tim Davies also became a four-time BMGA British Seniors Champion at the event.

In other results, London’s Brad Shepherd won the coveted aces prize with a total of 17 aces across the competition, while Cambridge’s Tony Kelly took the Novice prize with a seven-round total of 278 (+26).

Full Results can be found at

Photos from the day, courtesy of Marion Homer and Emily Gottfried can be found at

Jo Williamson - British Womens Champion 2009

Tim Davies - British Senior Champion 2009

Rocky Bullin - British Junior Champion 2009

Following the BMGA British Minigolf Championships the BMGA Order of Merit Rankings top five is as follows:

1. Andy EXALL 3603
2. Chris HARDING 3499
3. Nick CHITTY 3426
4. Tim DAVIES 3415
5. Brad SHEPHERD 3180

Last Updated ( Tuesday, 07 July 2009 21:46 )

Previous Events

Sun 02/12/2018
Star City Open 2018

Sun 11/11/2018
Kent Open 2018

Sun 21/10/2018
Club Championships 2018

Sun 07/10/2018
Welsh Open 2018

Sun 16/09/2018
British Open 2018


Log in or register with the BMGA.

Forgot Login?


Who's Online

We have 40 guests online