British Minigolf Association

BMGA Order of Merit released following 2018 Midlands Open PDF Print E-mail


The eighth Strokeplay Order Of Merit of the 2018 season has been released following the 2018 Midlands Open which took place on Saturday 28th July at Four Ashes Golf Centre in Dorridge. This season saw the category splits continue with Category 1 (made up of the top 16 players along with any players winning BMGA tour events across the previous 5 seasons). Category 2 features players ranked 17 to 32 inclusive and Category 3 features all other players on the BMGA tour. Category 4 continued to only include players for their first 3 events on the tour (NB: this category will only relate to prize funds and the BMGA SHIELD).

1Michael SMITH7687
2Steve LOVELL6952
3Mark WOOD6683
4Andy WILDE6610
5Will DONNELLY6469
6Chris SMITH6437
7Martin GREENHEAD6323
8Dave DONNELLY6260
9Ed POPE6150
10Andy EXALL6126
11David GOMM6093
12Terry EXALL6014
13Ruth BURKE5920
14Scott LANCLEY5860
15Ted MCIVER5852
16Derek BENTALL5793
17David HARTLEY5618
18Seve KUKIELKA5540
19Chris WOOD5379
20Matt DODD4940
21James RUTHERFORD4932
21John SHARP4932
23Adrian AMEY4917
24Sean HOMER4777
25Paul JOHNSON4685
26Rocky BULLIN4559
27Tiger PRAGNELL4556
28Helen DODD4110
29Adam KELLY4041
30Matty EXALL4036
31Martin RELF3867
32Marion HARTLEY3864
33Cindy KUKIELKA3747
34Marc CHAPMAN3315
35Tony KELLY3071
36Henri MYERS2942
37Stephen SKINNER2850
38Marion HOMER2635
39Paul PRESTON2594
40David TAYLOR2570
41Keith KELLARD2488
43Philip EXALL2440
44Robert LINNELL2137
45Simon BROWN2133
46Owen JOHNSON2112
47Nuno CUNHA1890
48Russell SMITH1840
49Dee RELF1688
50Alan MARSH1615
51Martyn WILLIAMS1567
52Chris HORN1557
53Steve GOW1507
54Rupert PILGRIM1473
55Jessica PILGRIM1423
56Dominic SAWYER1323
57Julian TURNER1307
58Oli PAXTON1223
59Jeremy LEACH1157
60James HOLLINRAKE1123
61Brian GOULD1115
62Jack NIXON1105
63Ollie GREENHEAD1097
64Peter JONES1073
65Jamie PARKIN1057
66Kieran OLIVE957
67Charlie DART930
68Seth THOMAS897
69Peter GRANFORS893
69Santeri LOHI893
71Andrew Nichols873
72Yann GREEN827
74Alan EVANS764
75Ed HAYNES748
76Trish MCGREGOR690
77Ben HOLROYD631
79Simon FARMER574
80Geoff FARMER568
81Scott WALKER547
83Adam DUSTIN481
84David WALKER464
85Laura Skinner417
86Andrew GOMM381
87Anthony CLARKSON331
89Alex EXALL300
89Neil GREY300
91Shelley COOPER265
92Jon WRIGHT250
92Helen PASZYN250
94Trev PATMORE138
95Jon ANGEL104
96Kerry WEST100
97Jasmine TETLEY50
97Kathryn HAYNES50
97Toby AUSTIN50
97Liz GOMM50
97Chris WICKES50
97Eddy GOMM50
97Isobel GOMM50
97Natasha SMITH50
97Steve RAGLESS50
97Andy PATMORE50

The Executive Committee decided unanimously to update the Order of Merit from the start of the 2017 season.


The main change is the length of the ranking period which has been shortened from a two-year period to a rolling one year period (365 days). The best five ranking points performances are still used to generate the Order of Merit.


What this means is we achieve consistency in the rankings which is something that we were never get able to achieve with fluctuations at the start of the season under the previous system.


Following the 2018 AGM, two other changes have been implemented. One was that there will be a guaranteed minimum of 1,000 ranking points available at any tournament where there are at least six members of the current top 16 in the Order of Merit present. Players who finished the previous season as Category 1 can only drop to Category 2 in the following season.

Any points due to expire in between tournaments which for example would happen for anyone who had taken part in the 2016 Midlands Open would not be applied to the Order of Merit until after the 2017 British Masters. So after the 2017 British Masters, all tournaments from the 2016 British Masters onwards are within the one year rolling period and the best five scoring events will be taken to calculate the updated Order of Merit.


Upcoming Events

Sun 02/09/2018
Sussex Wasps Open 2018

Fri 14/09/2018
British Open 2018

Sun 07/10/2018
Welsh Open 2018

Sun 21/10/2018
Club Championships 2018

Sun 11/11/2018
Kent Open 2018

Previous Events

Sun 29/07/2018
British Matchplay Championship 2018

Sat 28/07/2018
Midlands Open 2018

Sun 15/07/2018
British Doubles Championship 2018

Sat 14/07/2018
Cambridgeshire & Essex Open 2018

Sat 07/07/2018
Worthing Minigolf Club Open 2018


Log in or register with the BMGA.

Forgot Login?


Who's Online

We have 29 guests online