Sunday 21st October saw the 2018 British Club Championship take place at Dunton Hills Golf Centre in Brentwood, Essex. Seven teams took part in the illustrious tournament which was played in a fantastic spirit throughout. Players were at the course from dusk till dawn, with every team playing each other in a round robin format over 12 holes.

In the end, Cambridgeshire & Essex Blues won the title with six wins out of six. This was the club’s first ever Club Championship victory and it was fitting that they won the event on home territory, becoming the fifth club to win the event.

Defending Champions, Midlands Minigolf Club, finished second with five wins out of six, losing just one match, against Cambridgeshire & Essex Minigolf Club by one hole.

Four time winners Planet Hastings Crazy Golf Club finished third with a total of nine points from their six matches.
Kent Minigolf finished fourth and Team Exall fifth, both also on nine points, with the positions being decided on hole difference.

The second Planet Hastings Crazy Golf Club team finished sixth with three points from their six matches.

Cambridgeshire & Essex Greys finished seventh with no points from their fixtures but battled admirably throughout; having only three players never helps!

2018 CEMGC team (L to R)- Mark Wood, Chris Wood, James Rutherford, Martin Greenhead

Speaking following their victory, CEMGC Captain James Rutherford said “It goes without saying that we are delighted to have finally clinched our maiden victory at the club championships. We’ve had a lot of near misses over the years so this one feels extra special.

It’s always a fantastic tournament and Sunday was no exception. All 7 teams played the event with a great competitive spirit and it was great to see some new teams being formed this year that can only be a good thing for British minigolf.

The club championship is probably my favourite event of the year because it is the tournament where we, as a club, work towards one goal together. Our team spirit carried us through the matches where it looked like things were going awry and to end up going the whole day without dropping a point was the icing on the cake.

A special mention must go to the CEMGC Greys who had a tough day with just three players in the team, at a course like Dunton that put them at a disadvantage. Despite this, they not only supported the Blues in practice and during the day but put in a great performance with good scoring throughout the day. So, thank you Adrian, Matt and Neil. This victory is all of ours!!

Huge thanks as ever to both the course and the BMGA for staging yet another outstanding event that will certainly live long in my memory!”



The final table of results can be seen below:

Club Played Won Drawn Lost Points  Hole Difference
CEMGC Blues 6 6 0 0 18 16
MMGC 6 5 0 1 15 10
PHCGC- The Gifted Johnsons 6 3 0 3 9 3
KMGC 6 3 0 3 9 2
Team Exall 6 3 0 3 9 -5
PHCGC- Ale-Inn Putters 6 1 0 5 3 -5
CEMGC Greys 6 0 0 6 0 -21



The final team positions were as follows:

1st- Cemgc Blues  (James Rutherford, Chris Wood, Mark Wood, Martin Greenhead)

2nd- Midlands Minigolf Club  (Michael Smith, Rocky Bullin, Ruth Burke, Will Donnelly)

3rd- Planet Hastings 'The Gifted Johnson's'  (John McIver, Owen Johnson, Paul Johnson, Terry Exall)

4th- Kent Spitfires (Scott Lancley, Dave Donnelly, James Hollinrake, John Sharp)

5th- Team Exall (Andy Exall, Alex Exall, Matty Exall, Philip Exall)

6th- Planet Hastings 'Ale-Inn Putters' (Dave Gomm, David Hartley, David Taylor, Marion Hartley)

7th- Cemgc Greys   (Adrian Amey, Helen Dodd, Matt Dodd, Neil Grey)


All the results from the day can be found in the Excel spreadsheet attached below.


BMGA Club Championships Roll of Honour:
2003 - Planet Hastings Crazy Golf Club
2004 - London Minigolf Club
2005 - Planet Hastings Crazy Golf Club
2006 - Planet Hastings Crazy Golf Club
2007 - Planet Hastings Crazy Golf Club
2008 - Midlands Minigolf Club
2009 - London Minigolf Club
2010 - Kent Minigolf Club
2011 - Kent Minigolf Club
2012 - Kent Minigolf Club
2013 - Kent Minigolf Club
2015 - Midlands Minigolf Club
2016 - Kent Minigolf Club
2017 - Midlands Minigolf Club

2018 – Cambridgeshire & Essex Minigolf Club



Some photos from the day, including the presentations can be found on the BMGA Facebook page at Apologies that not all team photos were taken on the day.


The next event will be the 2018 Kent Open on Sunday 11th November at Mr Mulligan’s Dino Golf in Sidcup. All information about how to enter can be found on the event page of the BMGA website here.


The next BMGA event, and 2018 season closer, will be the 2018 Star City Open on Sunday 2nd December at Adventure Island Minigolf, Star City. All details of how to enter will be released on the BMGA website shortly.